

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE

16th June 2014



Swain Pushes for second Group 1 title

By Ellen Dwyer Operations Manager GBOTA

Dean Swain prepared Push It will head betting after drawing box two in next Saturday's (June 21) Group 1 Rapidvite Peter Mosman Final at Wentworth Park.

Leading all the way over the 520m journey, Push It punched out sections of 5.38, 17.98 before stopping the clock at 29.93. Mentor Swain won the Group 1 National Futurity with Rue De Kahn back in February and is now on track to claim his second Group 1 title for the year.

In what will be an intriguing final, fellow semi-final winners, Stitlon Blue and Tommy Brislane also remain live hopes, after drawing box three and five respectively.

Phillip Goodsell's Stilton Blue recorded identical times as Push It on Saturday night, leading all the way over Bessy Boo.

Drawing closer to the rail in the final, connections believe that Stilton Blue remains a strong chance and will be capable of matching motors with the more favoured Push It.

Stringing together five straight wins, Tommy Brislane, recorded best of the night figures in his semifinal win, recording an overall time of 29.76.

The ultra impressive run will fill trainer White with confidence heading into the \$75,000 to the winner Final, having overcome the awkward box four draw on Saturday night (June 15).

GROUP ONE - RAPIDVITE PETER MOSMAN CLASSIC - \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and Tab Fixed Odds Market for the Rapidvite Peter Mosman Classic 520:

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Rapidvite Mosman Classic 520m			
Box Greyhound	Trainer	Price	B/T
U BESSY BOO	CHRISTINE PROCTOR	\$13	30.00
PUSH IT	DEAN SWAIN	\$3.50	29.70
3 SHILTON BLUE	PHILLIP GOODSELL	\$3	29.93
4 ACCESS	IAN GARLAND (VIC)	\$11	NBT
5 TOMMY BRISLANE	STEVEN WHITE	\$3.50	29.71
6 WHERE'S THE SURF	DARREN MCDONALD (VIC)	\$21	29.71
MY AWESOME OPAL	MARIE BURTON	\$15	30.06
8 ALL STRUNG OUT	GLENN ROUNDS (VIC)	\$9	29.66
FIRE ELUSIVE (RES)	MARK MORONEY	\$16	30.03
10 KEYBOW (RES)	DARREN MCDONALD (VIC)	\$4.50	29.45

Local expert's selections for the final are as follows.

Ron Arnold

1st Push It

2nd Tommy Brislane

3rd Bessy Boo

Gerard Guthrie

1st Push It

2nd Tommy Brislane

3rd Shilton Blue

Adam Dobbin

1st Shilton Blue

2nd Push It

3rd Tommy Brislane



What's happening on race night?

Next Saturday night's meeting will include live entertainment, lucky gate draw.

Further inquiries can be made with the NSW GBOTA on 0285871210.

Honour Roll

The Classic was first run at Harold Park in 1952 when won by Robin Buchanan. In those days the race was called the Bi-Annual Classic and remained the same until 1988 when the GBOTA renamed the Classic honouring legendary administrator the late Peter Mosman. Like all other GBOTA features it moved with the club to Wentworth Park in 1987. Some outstanding sprinters have won the race over its journey going back to Miss Oakey (53), Tell You Why (59), Classy Jane (the dam of Black Top 60), Rokoko (68), The Smoother (70), Satan's Legend (78), Tegimi (79), Promises Free (82), Brother Fox (85), Farmer Wilson (91), How's The Fort (92), Worthy Reward (93), Tap Dance (94), Solve The Puzzle (98), Great Wish (99), Winsome Dollars (2001), Elite State (2003), Surf Lorian (2004) and 2010 winner Tuiaki. The last three winners were all raced by the Wheelers. Listed below is the honour roll in full.

1952 Robin Buchanan, 1953 Miss Oakey, 1954 Farrago Hawk, 1955 Proto Girl, 1956 Double Jade, 1957 Fine Earl, 1958 Town Ghost, 1959 Tell You Why, 1960 Classy Jane, 1961 Silver Khan, 1962 Nimble Aye, 1963 Keen Linen, 1964 Sudden Linen, 1965 Satyr Rocket,1966 Perfect Socks, 1967 Dark Durante, 1968 Rokoko, 1969 Silent Ring, 1970 The Smoother, 1971 Alray Lad, 1972 Toouli, 1973 Dusty Trail, 1974 Early Copy, 1975 Arctic Raider, 1976 Proper Calibre, 1977 Ripa's Regard, 1978 Satan's Legend, 1979 Tegimi, 1980 Dick's Gem, 1981 Merry Tempest, 1982 Promises Free, 1983 Acacia Park, 1984 Crathie Drive, 1985 Brother Fox, 1986 Yob Yobbo, 1987 Paris In Spring, 1988 Kinjarra, 1989 Style Leader, 1990 Classy Spider, 1991 Farmer Wilson, 1992 How's The Fort, 1993 Worthy Reward, 1994 Tap Dance1995 Patchtime, 1996 Casino Jack, 1997 William Wallace, 1998 Solve The Puzzle, 1999 Great Wish, 2000 Token Wave, 2001 Winsome Dollars, 2002 Big Sam Banner, 2003 Elite State, 2004 Surf Lorian, 2005 Over Flo, 2006 Faithful Love, 2007 Run The Risk, 2008 Lend Us Fifty, 2009 Devine Road 2010 Tuiaki, 2011 Allen Harper, 2012 Garrick Bale and 2013 Xylia Allen.



The great Hall of Famer Brother Fox winner of the Mosman in 1985

Media Contact:

Ellen Dwyer Business Development Manager NSW GBOTA 02 85871210 0403 802 022



For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton
AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838

